I appreciate that John Piper has attempted to clarify his statements about the weather damage of a neighboring church. I also appreciate the discussion that has arisen from it.  
His original statement
http://www.desiringgod.org/Blog/1965_the_tornado_the_lutherans_and_homosexuality/

and his clarification can be read here:
http://www.desiringgod.org/Blog/1968_clarifying_the_tornado/?dsq=15262033#comment-15262033

I feel that in this discussion and those like it we can lose sight of each other.
I have been ruminating over Pastor Piper’s post for a number of days now and in some
of the blogs I have read and in truth my own heart, I have seen a lack of love, kindness, understanding.
I attended Bethlehem for almost a year. I enjoy Piper. But I feel that there has been a line in the sand drawn that need not be.
I think of Psalm 133: “Feel how good it is for families to live together in unity!”
This boils down to a discussion of the dividers that we create between ourselves and other good Christians. A pastor of one church not but a few miles away from another looking in and interpreting weather damage. Or myself, when I hold other churches and faith expressions in low regard. I am guilty of line drawing too.
“I stand here under the true cross! My Jesus is more true, I know what sin is and can identify it in your life and I know when God is warning you.” I do it, but I want to be held accountable when I do it. The Body of Christ, justice, love, and the glory of God mean too much for me not to be.

When lines are drawn, people hurt, judgment cast, apologies help mend. Service and shared work help create reconciliation. Can Bethlehem stand alongside CLC long enough to help restore their place of worship, raise the damaged steeple cross?

When we encounter hardship, we are the best interpreters of our struggle. A thorn in our own side speaks to us in ways that others often can’t. When one loses a job (which many of us have of late) or gets sick who wants others (let alone strangers) to come in and interpret it for you? You stub your toe, wind blows away shingles, a bird gets too comfortable on your car…I will respect you and your walk with Christ enough to let you interpret it. In the meantime, I will live with you in shared worship, communion, living together in harmony.

Unnecessarily drawn lines between Christians often reveal themselves when love, joy, and Christ are abundantly present in another’s life. Had ELCA been acting rashly, hastily, selfishly, in malice or disregard, Piper’s blog would have rung more true to me. Had love, joy, and Christ not been abundantly present in the lives of those who voted in the majority, Piper’s message would have resonated more with me. But these are not the case.
Instead, I saw Christ in their proceedings. And let us not gloss over all the decisions that the assembly made: justice in immigration reform, advocacy for just treatment of malaria, HIV/AIDS, justice for women, greater inclusion of people of diverse abilities, and responding justly to disaster. These decisions blessing the Kingdom are not at odds with the decision to celebrate the shalom wholeness of all people–regardless of ‘sex’, ‘gender’, ‘sexual orientation’ or other such arbitrary human constructions.

I look forward to the report that Piper reaches out in reconciliation and leads his parishoners with tool belts on to repair and restore a neighboring church. I look forward to seeing pictures of the two churches sharing communion.

Behold how good and how pleasant it is….!

