Sensuous westerlies lit upon the Gorse and heath, tossing summer coated Bramblings in their afternoon hunt. Nibb grazed nearby huffing into the grass eyes rolling with ideas of bog myrtle for afters. The time was unknown to the Travellers–time goes funny when keeping the company of gods and loved ones but their ‘when’ was just before what is called the Neolithic. Ring of Brodgar, Woodhenge, the Maumbury Rings, and golf courses had not yet made their appearance in the British Isles.

Tanya, incarnated as a snow owl, gripped onto a low branch and watched the fly shaking back of the grazing mare. “Who?” she asked.
“Who whom” she returned without raising her head.
“Who are you to think you’re better than I…or any of the gods?”
Nibb thought: “If you wanted to read my mind, you could have asked first.”
Tanya’s voice thought back in her head–“I can’t help it. I’m your thoughts as much as I’m any owl.”
“Still, it would have been polite to knock first.” This she said.
“You think we’re wrong to end humanity.” This the god almost asked. It was hard to put words to thoughts and she troubled over how to translate ‘think’, ‘wrong’, ‘end’, and ‘humanity’. It all could have been rendered “Your stomach and shoulder muscles are overly stressed when considering the murdering of people and their families.”

Nibb sighed and swished her tail involuntarily.
“When I was a racing horse, I was whipped into running in circles and when I got my fractured sesamoid, my trainer tried talking my owner into ‘putting me down’–I was insured afterall…I wanted to kick them all straight to hell. I know the evil of humanity–what they’re capable of. I know it well enough to know I’m capable of all of it too.”
“How very compassionate of you. Do you think that those feelings of compassion are shared by all those who have had loved ones killed or tortured by humans?…Let me tell you, as I god I know….Most of them do not.”
“Maybe humans can change.”
“Let’s wait for them to destroy three more planets to find out, shall we? You didn’t have to stand by and watch them mine all the water out of the moon and irradiate all its dust. You didn’t have to inhabit the body of the last dying housecat on Earth.”
“Well you’re a god! Why don’t you do something about it then?”
“Free-will. Or that’s what I tell people anyway. Look. If you’re good friend h0m-R can convince us that we should reconsider–maybe we’ll reconsider.”
“That’s very reassuring, Tanya. Thanks.” She looked back at the picnic blanket where h0m-R was two glasses into a bottle of wine and trying to open a bag of Oreos with his teeth.  

